And it begins.

Hello world. My name is Edwin Morales also known as DJ Konsept, and this is my blog.

This is my first blog and I’m pretty damn excited about it.

In this blog I plan to explore two of my biggest loves: food and music. There are  far too many ideas in my head and now I have an outlet for them.

As a DJ, producer and promoter I live and breathe music every day. I also come from a family of musicians, so music has always been a part of my life.

As for food, well, we all have to eat and who doesn’t enjoy a good meal? It wasn’t until about 4 years ago that I started to really explore food. Cooking, learning the history of foods, pairing meals with wines, discovering new restaurants and cuisine, seeing the way restaurants work etc.

Over these last 4 years I’ve noticed a few things. While attempting to teach myself to cook, I’ve noticed that the music I listen to sometimes influences the way I cook…the passion I put into the dish I’m preparing. I’ve also noticed how easily my experience at a restaurant can be either heightened or diminished according to the music.

I started to really think about the relationship between food and music, wondering the influence one may have on the other…..and how many other people out there are wondering the same thing?

I plan to further explore these (amongst other) things and share what I find on this blog.

My plan is to share as much as I can with you. It’s pretty ambitious, but I plan to post my DJ mixes, remixes and original tracks. I’m gonna post download links to MP3’s for music I love, music from friends and just general music I feel should be heard.  I’ll also be posting recipes I love, recipes I’ve created and recipes submitted. I also plan on doing a series of interviews with people who’s lives are influenced by both music and food. Producers, chefs, DJ’s, restaurant owners, club owners etc.

For now, updates will happen when they happen. I may set a certain schedule as I get a better hang of how to do this, but just check back from time to time to see what’s new.

I’m not a very good writer nor do I claim to know all that there is to know about food and music, but one thing I can guarantee you is that I’m passionate and I hope that this blog will reflect that.

Thank you for your support and check back soon for the first entry.

 

Cheers!

 

Edwin Konsept

8 responses to “And it begins.

  1. You are in fact a great writer. Congrats on the new blog. I’m intrigued. It’s totally you being you – not contrived for the sake of having a blog, which means it will be amazing.
    I’m so proud of you.
    I consider you to be one of my first students 🙂 It makes a teacher proud to see a student succeed so genuinely – being the person he was created to be.

  2. welcome to the bloggosphere! i’m waitin to learn something about food wine pairings…come on wit it. gzr

  3. Thanks Livie!
    I’m looking forward to learning more and I will be going to you for insight and questions. So be prepared.
    Oh, and you should start thinking of recipes of yours that I can post here!

    hearts.
    edwin

  4. HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY.

    yay for blogs! i couldn’t add this to my RSS feed though :/ so keep tweeting your updates so i can keep up!

  5. Cooking and music are inorexably linked. Once I’m in Toronto after we’re done in Daegu, I plan to start my own restaurant as soon as possible.

    I cook my best shit when I’m hammered and listening to good stuff. It doesn’t have to be smart, just bumpin. Krome & Time’s Megamix, VHS or Beta’s Night on Fire or Brian Jonestown Massacre’s Strung out in Heaven are great if mixed with some dead brain cells and deadly spicy food.

  6. Edwin! You are a great writer. My business started as a little blog I shared with a few close to me. It’s fun to have a little space to share your ideas, sing your song and even get a little feedback now and again. I’m really excited about this topic! I love to hear what others are listening to and eating. Putting that together is genious! Can’t wait to keep reading!

  7. word, edwin! this is gonna be great. let a sister know when you need a good wine to go with a good vegetarian dish… but you provide the beat, cool? love you mucho. xox

Leave a Reply

